Governing Board

Governing Board Meeting Minutes

Highland Rivers Health is governed by a 14-member governing board that includes a representative from every county in the agency’s service area (with two representatives from both Floyd and Polk counties) who are appointed by each county’s board of commissioners. The board has four officers (chair, vice chair, secretary and treasurer) who are selected by board members, and two standing committees: corporate compliance and finance. Members serve three-year terms, and terms are staggered to ensure continuity of governance.

Highland Rivers’ board meets every other month (six times each year). Governing board meetings are open to the public and announced in advance. In Fiscal Year 2018, all meetings of the Highland Rivers governing board will be held at the Bartow Recovery and Wellness Center, 650 Joe Frank Harris Parkway, in Cartersville, which is centrally located in Highland Rivers' service area. Dates of governing board meetings in FY18 are:

  • August 22, 2018
  • October 24, 2018
  • December 4, 2014
  • February 27, 2019
  • April 24, 2019
  • June 26, 2019

On board meeting days, the compliance and finance committees meet at 9:30 a.m., and the full governing board meets beginning at 10:30 a.m.

The board includes several individuals who have family members with mental illness, addictive disease or developmental disabilities, as well as representatives from the judicial system, family services, private industry, law enforcement, local government and  healthcare, among others. Current members of the Highland Rivers governing board are listed below, with their professional titles (if applicable) and the county they represent.

Chantel Adams, Chair

Founder and CEO, Forever We, Inc.
Cherokee County

The Honorable W. Allen Wigington, Vice Chair

Chief Judge, Magistrate Court of Pickens County
Pickens County

Bonnie Moore, Secretary

President, Rome, Ga., chapter of the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
Floyd County

Bill Fann, Teasurer

City Manager, City of Cedartown, Ga.
Polk County

Lane Bennett

Chief of Police, City of Fairmount, Ga.
Gordon County

The Honorable L. Gale Buckner

Chief Magistrate Judge, Magistrate Court of Murray County
Murray County

Joe Duvall

Chief of Police, City of Dallas, Ga.
Paulding County

Larry Maxey

Floyd County Board of Commissioners
Floyd County

Lori Rakes

Chief Operating Officer, Cartersville Medical Center
Bartow County

Jean Smilie

Behavioral health advocate
Gilmer County

Sherman Ross

Rockmart City Council
Polk County


Whitfield County

Faye Ward

Behavioral health advocate
Haralson County

Donna Whitener

Mayor, City of Blue Ridge, Ga.
Fannin County